Chicagoland Sportbike Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Must... brake... later...
478 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Already I've lost too much sleep over this matter, so I am soliciting the opinion/support of my fellow CLSBer's. Please no flaming, but your constructive comments would be so appreciated. Thank you in advanced. Ok, so here's the situation:

I purchased a '01 Ducati 748S this past May. I always wanted one, and I jumped on a great opportunity (read CHEAP!) for a barely used one. After a couple of months riding it and being a part of the Ducati camp, I realized it ain't that great of a bike. I enjoyed the mystique of owning an Italian machine, but compared to my R6, it was underpowered and didn't handle that much better. I had the opportunity to take both these bikes on the track this summer and found the R6 to be more comfortable to ride. Now, mind you I am new to the track and haven't found the perfect setup for either bike, but my initial impression was in favor of the R6.

Here's the 2nd part of the equation:

I am for sure getting an R1-- either at the end of this season (so I can pick up a smoking deal on a '02) or at the beginning of next season.

The dilemma:

I don't know which one to get rid of: R6 vs. Duc 748S. I will primarily use the bike I stick with on the track and ride the R1 on the street. Now this arrangement is flexible, but I think that's how the chips will fall at this juncture.

If I stay with the R6, for all intents and purposes I'll make it my track bike. Probably changing the fairings, pulling off lights, re-spring the suspension, etc. etc. However, if I stay with the Duc, I'll ride it at the track, but occassionally ride it on the street as well. I don't think I would go all out and make it a dedicated track bike.

Now I don't know how serious I'll get into track days, but I *hope* to hit the track once a month during the riding season. Maybe I'll decide to make the R1 the track bike later on.... who knows.